bishop

Overwolf App Tutorial

Hey guys so I'm going to be posting up a 5 part tutorial on making apps for Overwolf! If you want any help with specific APIs let me know and I'll include them into this tutorial. A little background on me: I was a web developer for around 9 years and now I'm working with a tonne of different technologies. I'm also a part time instructor at Lighthouse Labs where we teach you how to be a badass developer in 8 weeks (if you live in Vancouver or Toronto). 

Alright let's make an app called Blastin Fools!

k5bNZnd.png

So first things first, Overwolf is in beta and things are constantly changing. It's very possible that the information here may be out of date in a few months or a few weeks. That being said the Overwolf API is really simple, while still being really powerful and having a tonne of cool stuff! It's a really exciting time for developers as more and more features are being added, and more games are being supported. Anyway let's do this!

Prerequisites:

• You're down with me calling Overwolf OV for the rest of this
  • You've got the dev version of OV 
  • You got the demo app somwhere
  • You've skimmed through the "ODK introduction" and therefore know how to load an app into the OV software
  • You're using SublimeText, Notepad++, or an equally decent text editor

Project so far (github link)

Setup

Let's start with getting rid of the sub window from the demo. Open up the manifest and get rid of this:

"SubWindow":{
     "file":"Files/subwindow.html",
     "transparent":true,
     "resizable":false,
     "size":{"width":400, "height":300},
     "in_game_only":true
    }

Also in your index.html file we can get rid of these two bits:

function openSubWindow(){
    alert("the subwindow will only be visible inside a game");
    overwolf.windows.obtainDeclaredWindow("SubWindow", function(result){
     if (result.status == "success"){
      overwolf.windows.restore(result.window.id, function(result){
        console.log(result);